Remember my post from a several months back named I'm Not Nice: Cold Calls From India Programmers?
Well, I am so much worse now. Here is my new scenario:
(1) Phone Rings
(2) I say, "Hello"
(3) There is a three second delay...
(4) "Hello, my name is Joe," is heard in an Indian accent from far away (i.e. VOIP line).
(5) I said, "I assume you are looking for us to outsource to you?"
(6) There is a three second delay...
(7) "Yes."
(8) I say, "Not interested, Goodbye."
I don't even have patience to wait for the person to tell me what they do. I ask them straight out...


Comments
I'm with you man. I don't have much patience for those calls. It's like phone spam.
Posted by: Scott | April 10, 2008 12:15 PM
Happened to me yesterday too.
I was cold called from aplus.net because my phone number showed up in a domain registration whois.
"I see you recently registered a domain. are you looking for web hosting or looking for someone to create a website for you?"
Uhh seriously? wow, cold calling from domain registrations. they must be pretty desperate.
Posted by: Jonathan Dingman | April 10, 2008 12:23 PM
Just curious...but why does my comment say Scott Clark now? :)
Posted by: Scott Allen | April 10, 2008 12:35 PM
Maybe it's a secret alias of yours, an alias that even YOU don't know of!
Split personalities? :)
Posted by: Jonathan Dingman | April 10, 2008 12:37 PM
Fixed, sorry.
Posted by: Barry Schwartz | April 10, 2008 12:45 PM
I get the same ones from aplus. Every single time I register a new domain. They ask me if I need someone to optimize and promote my site. I say "sure, can you look at one of my other sites too?"
I then send them to my SEO blog. It's usually a short conversation after that.
Posted by: Josh Garner | April 10, 2008 3:07 PM
@Jonathan: LOL.
@Barry: No worries. :)
Posted by: Scott Allen | April 10, 2008 4:41 PM
Ha. Ridiculous! We actually just posted Top 10 Reasons NOT to outsource to India. We are so tired of that stuff!
http://brickmarketing.com/seo-india.htm
Posted by: No Name | April 11, 2008 10:18 AM